She’s doing better than great!

Since the stomach bug passed two weeks ago, Emily has progressively gotten better and better, and now she’s feeling completely healthy and normal! She’s regained her appetite and nearly eaten us out of house and home -she gained back the three pounds lost and even gained one more pound! She’s been asking for food constantly; it’s as if she’s been on steroids for the last two weeks. Plus, helping her weight gain along is this organic kids nutrition shake I discovered at our local Costco, Orgain Healthy KidsΒ (developed by a doctor/cancer survivor!). I like to make green smoothies at home, and usually Emily drinks them, but a new “chocolate milk” was just what she needed to add some good minerals and vitamins back into her diet.Β 

Yummy and nutritional!

Yummy and nutritional!

I don’t think I mentioned it here, but Emily had some trouble with her at-home chemo for the first three weeks of December -it made her immune system very weak -so it was put on hold for that time. Thankfully she was able to restart the day after Christmas at a 50% dose, and it looks like she’ll be able to go up in dosage soon, since her immune system has been very strong recently. While I sort of like the idea of her being off chemo, it’s also a relief to be back on. I hate chemo. I hate poison coursing through her body. But I know this poison is killing any last remaining cancer cells, and I want it to do its job completely. I don’t want one single cancer cell left hiding somewhere, waiting to reappear when her treatment is done. I came across this short video the other day that does a good job of explaining conventional treatment.

After Emily was diagnosed, Jason and I did a lot of searching for alternative treatments. And there is a LOT of info out there. But it didn’t take us long to decide that, even though chemo sucks -and it kills her healthy cells along with the cancer cells -and it doesn’t always work -and there are a lot of risks, even long-term risks -it’s the most proven method of treatment. You’ve heard this many times, but we are grateful for the hospital and team of medical professionals she’s fortunate enough to have. We have a lot of trust in them, and of course, ultimately we are trusting her health to God. So I’m glad to be back on track with her treatment!

Speaking of on track, we are actually in the countdown to completion! Emily is scheduled to finish her treatment regimen at the end of June, 2014! I’m not counting days yet, but it’s cool to see the finish line πŸ™‚

And just for fun, here’s a 2 minute clip of Emily on Friday evening. It was about 6:30 pm, and she had spent the entire day at the hospital getting her spinal tap with chemo, her monthly infusion of chemo, and her monthly infusion of antibiotic. Yet she was full of energy!!

15 responses to “She’s doing better than great!

  1. I love reading updates on Emily, what an amazing, AND TOUGH, child!

  2. This child, LoL. Oh, the kitchen looks great. I see the boys finished their chores after I left. Hahaha.

  3. Oh my goodness! She is such a ball of fire! πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, my goodness – that’s precious, Chrissie! You can so tell that she’s been watching you and Jason exercising with your videos! And leave it to a big sister to try to make sure she’s doing her made-up game right!

  5. Jennifer Miller

    Dear Chrissie,
    I’ve been following Emily’s Blog ever since you wrote on my daughter Lauren’s Caring bridge site. It is soooo nice to see Emily feeling well and FULL of energy! I loved seeing “Stitch” in action in the Youtube video! June is just around the corner, and I’m so happy that Emily is feeling well the end to a very long and difficult journey is in sight. ~~ Jen

  6. Overjoyed that Emily is feeling so well! So close to the end–whoop, whoop!!!! Thank you for posting the milk. Were all about green smoothies, also, but I love new ways of sneaking in nutrition. As always, you’re in our hearts and they’re bursting knowing Emily is doing better.

  7. Both videos are awesome! πŸ™‚

  8. Chrissie she looks GREAT! Praise God!

  9. WONDERFUL!

  10. Thanks for that precious video! Emily is full of life!!! Thanking God for His hand upon all of you. June isn’t to far away. Rejoicing in His strength for all of you.

  11. What an awesome video! They are both so beautiful! So happy Emily is doing great! You guys are in my daily prayers!

Leave a Reply

